Easter Reflections (and Politics)

I sat on this for most of the day. I was recently challenged by a friend for why I haven’t joined #NEVERTRUMP and for how I can stand in a place of criticizing the man and his qualities, while remaining faithful to the Party, even if Trump wins the nomination. Maybe I won’t do justice with this message, but from my heart to yours, I hope you read this with Sincerity. God placed a burden on my heart in recent months about fidelity, especially in how my own father remained loyal to all his commitments despite whatever strains it put on him: Church, Marriage, His Son, God, Work, Friends, and Family.

Dad did his best to be THE LOYAL OPPOSITION, the idea of remaining in the fold of an idea or group even when you oppose how that group moves forward. You want everyone to know you are going to not denunciate the decisions of those in charge, but you will be honest with those in charge about your disapproval. My dad did this in every aspect of his life. So to in Politics, must we, him and I, be in Religion. Consistent and Loyal to the ideas and causes we espouse, even when we feel Leadership is going insane. It’s why I still love and seek America’s best interest even when Obama is President. It’s why I sought Illinoisans to get their best possible future despite Madigan and formerly Governor Pat Quinn. To this extent, God has called me to stand here in the position I am, in the city I currently reside, and the party  I currently vote in. When God says it’s no longer right to remain here or safe to be there with my ideas, then I will leave the Party. But if I vote contrarian to the Party I am told to defend, define, and represent, how can I represent the Party in how God commands me? That’s my situation, whether you believe it or not.

On Easter, I am reminded that the Greatest of Us, the Greatest of all Humanity, came and paid the price collectively for all of us, for the least of us, guaranteeing equality amongst us as fellow men and women, and ensuring that each of us has the option for liberty and freedom in Heaven with God, rather than simply be shackled to this mortal coil and have it end here. That we as humans have a right to legacy, to equal respect and value, and this unfortunately turns me to a more recently embittered, but always bitter subject, Politics.

Today, the online paper National Review Online, put out a piece on why American Republicans and Conservatives should commit to the decision of Taft versus Roosevelt, and choose Taft over Roosevelt, even if it means losing ground; one should ‘never compromise on principles’ and ‘surrender the party to dangerous voices’. In some respect, I agree with this sentiment, I find the current abandonment of liberty, equality, and righteousness for something rather monstrous disgusting to my eyes, my mind, and my soul. My heart is frustrated by the perception that Americans in their fear have once again embraced a storm believing it be safer than the fire in their homes. They are praying the storm’s rains will put out the fire, but they have forgotten the storm’s winds, its chills, and lightning-induced damage that can be created by the storm, simply because the fire looks so horrifying and dangerous.

But that being said, on the subject of Taft vs. Roosevelt, which gave the Presidency to one of the most Unconstitutional Presidents in history (Woodrow Wilson, who admitted he wanted to destroy the Constitution because it was written by inferior men), I do not support the option advocated. I have thought long and hard on this, and it is cemented in my firm belief that while I oppose the broad movements of society in this country and embrace my outsider status, while I oppose the movement within my party and how it is acting to minorities, Islam, and how it will want to create laws against Islam that will inevitably be turned against Christians, I remain Republican. I recently watched a bitter and disgusting set of events happen in my home and local district in Illinois, using scandals and tabloid ads to cost the election of a good man, and honestly degrade the potential qualities of another good man who beat him. AND YET I WILL REMAIN AND VOTE REPUBLICAN. I have watched my party CONSTANTLY make the Taft Choice whenever a voice of opposition arises to challenge the party machine, and wouldn’t you know, WE LOSE EVERY DAMN TIME WE CHOOSE THIS OPTION. YET I REMAIN IN THE PARTY, I AM NOT LOYAL TO ANYONE PERSON OR MY OWN FEELINGS, I HATE HOW THIS PARTY IS ACTING ON ALL SIDES, it’s honestly disgusting. BUT I REMAIN IN THE PARTY.

71I don’t pretend to not see the problems of a candidate, or silence myself at their authority, but I would rather be Daniel, or Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego. I can call out wrongs and misdeeds from inside the authority and power, not just by shouting at it from the outside.

I call myself, like my Father proudly called himself, “The Loyal Opposition” and regardless of who leads my party’s nomination, or who the President is, I remain The Loyal Opposition, a loyalty I fail to see in all forms of society, from infidelity of relationships, to infidelity of parents to raising their children, to infidelity of communities to protect their young and weak, to infidelity in our chosen leaders representing OUR interests, whether they like it or not individually, collectively carrying out OUR interests. America today has long abandoned Loyalty as a key value and this is why we are in the position we are today, because we compromised our values and pretended we didn’t want to be ideological beacons, to be the lighthouses anymore, the Pillars of Salt to the world. Christ was a member of The Loyal Opposition, much as the Apostle Paul was. Both men chose to submit themselves to the laws of the land, regardless of how they personally felt, and let themselves both be killed by the government for the sake of showing that Faith requires Loyalty, and that means Loyalty to laws even when they unjustly disfavor us and harm us. It’s not that we don’t care, it’s that we won’t break Order for the sake of Righteousness, because God’s Law while Supreme, shouldn’t be compromised with when Man’s Law is Morally Reprehensible.

 Why I am ranting on Loyalty on the Subject of Taft v. Roosevelt?

Because a core component that National Review forgot in their #NEVERTRUMP campaign was that the Party of Taft, THREW OUT Roosevelt. They didn’t demand surrender and loyalty to the party, they didn’t make agreements to maintain the integrity of the party, THEY SILENCED opposition voices and drove them out. Let me be precise here, I do NOT condone or tolerate Trump as a candidate and my fidelity is in question many times to this party, but I remain here because I am compounded by faith and love for my country to choose paths and decisions I loathe personally. But I hate the idea of silencing the opposition by isolation, all that does is create permanent divides in a country that is already extremely divided and in need of relearning fidelity and love, creating permanent fissures on the basis of suppressing voices we don’t like is EXACTLY what we cannot stand about those who are PC, those who are in the Far-Left in our campuses, towns, and schools demanding that we silence the speech of those who dare to breathe and think differently. It’s the EXACT reason why we stood to destroy the Soviets, why we still struggle and frustrate the Communist Chinese, the North Koreans, why we should still frustrate the Communist Cubans, Bashar al-Assad, Vladimir Putin, and a host of other evil men and women in this world who relish in silencing permanently their enemies, or creating safe spaces to not hear those uncomfortable voices.

I won’t attack the Presidency of Taft or what he stood for, though there are PLENTY of arguments as to why he was bad. But to play this fiddle again, this is EXACTLY what happened when 2008 came around, and we were told as Republicans in the growing angry fold, “choose John McCain, he’ll do right by you.” Yes he brought on Sarah Palin as VP, but the party made large efforts to effectively bury any, ANY conservative influence on John McCain, they silenced rival voices in the party, and what happened, the establishment candidate got killed by our Democrat friends, who predominantly have trained themselves to act as the Vanguard Party, allowing no loud clamoring of descent to occur. (Until recently of course)

73
Do what is morally right has been something arguably the Party and our People haven’t been doing for awhile. Pretending that Trump is all the evil we despise fails to account for the fact he mirrors what we have allowed to flourish in the worst of us.

If 2008 wasn’t enough, that’s what happened in 2012. Mitt Romney came along, the Tea Partiers were told to shut up, embrace the centrist philosophy of the party, and were given a figurehead gesture in Paul Ryan as VP, which came back to the same problem again, that being voices were silenced by the Party and no concessions given to keep unity, and shock, Mitt Romney lost 2012. In a campaign he COULD have won, the Party silenced voices of opposition. And thus retaliation began. I don’t endorse the tactics of my admiration, Theodore Roosevelt when he ran an opposition campaign in 1911 against Taft and gave Wilson the White House. I don’t endorse Tea Party candidates who threw out incumbents to then throw away state and local elections. I endorse the Party, the Republican idea. There is a lot of wrong in both camps here, this isn’t just a straight up attack on #NEVERTRUMP, Trump supporter and Trump himself have flirted with infidelity for the sake of their ideas, and to me, all this screams of is Traitors. People who place themselves higher than the Party are Traitors to the Party because Fidelity to the Party is never going to be their first thought, it’s going to be “this principle” or “this desire”, “this ambition” or “this thing I want”, never will it be loyalty to the Republican Party, loyalty to the American ideal of REPRESENTATIVE Government, of a REPUBLIC for the People, by the People, of the People.

A brokered convention that was caused by Taft and Roosevelt is not an attack against that, it’s a legal and willing component of the party, meant to allow our coalition of the willing to vent frustrations, and then unite as a family. A brokered convention should end like Reagan vs. Ford, not like Taft vs. Roosevelt. We should seek to integrate after our squabble and create a coalition of victory. A brokered convention will force Trump to tame his passions, but to ostracize and throw out his supporters and him from the Party will only repeat what we have done in the past, which is set ourselves on fire. Each time we do this, we give power to the Unified Democrat Front in our Country to completely guide policy for 8 years. AND THEN WE WONDERED WHAT WENT WRONG? A HOUSE DIVIDED AGAINST ITSELF CANNOT STAND. We must reject the idea of Radical Reconstruction against our Trump-supporting friends AND against our Establishment-supporting friends. We must give Reagan’s memory of unification and fidelity a second chance, we must reject the doctrine of 150 years of ideological puritanism.

Tying Fidelity to Faith

Much like the Church of God today, we are divided into denominations, but we are a catholic Church, unified in God’s Holy Name, and at the end of the day, we are all Christians who are under God’s Wings. The Republican Party must be like this, or else the Republican Party will disappear and be replaced by a new entity, as the Whigs, National Republicans, Democrat-Republicans, Federalists, and Anti-Federalist have all been replaced.

We are Two Tribes right now and if we remain separated like this, we will completely grow hostile to either side and be unable to stand united. I cannot keep repeating myself, I love you all that I have met who are voting Republican in this election. I have Trump friends who have prodded me on how much I will tolerate of Establishment abuse. I have Establishment and Contrarian friends who question my virtue for standing for a Party that might be under Trump. Before my pride, before my ego, is my loyalty. I will die for it, but as an Eagle Scout, the first three things of Scout Law are “Trustworthy, Loyal, and Helpful”. As a Mason, I pledged to not let Religion, Politics, nor substance separate the bonds of my brotherhood with fellow Masons. As a Templar, I swore to defend Christendom with my life, in all forms of enemies, domestic and foreign. As a Christian, I gave my life to Christ, and am expected that even in death, will profess his name should it cost me my life. My life is founded on loyalty, to disregard loyalty, in the face of tribulation and frustration, would require me to separate all my bonds and cast aside the character by which I was raised to be and should become.

72 I am confident that there will be many who question my veracity and faith. All I can do is pray and hope that my faith shines through in our darkest hour as a Party, and perhaps as a Nation.

As an AMERICAN though, I Pledge Allegiance, to the Flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands one Nation under God, Indivisible, with Liberty and Justice for all. Those who expect me to choose neither candidate or throw my vote away on principles for the sake of my ego and other ideas, do not understand how core Loyalty has been to my life, in all things. Perhaps it’s a journey many won’t understand or respect, but come election day, when infidelity occurs, as it probably will, and we are forced to behold yet another 4 to 8 years of United Democratic Front policies, I will remind both Tribes of former Republicans, that if we had just tried to resolve our disputes rather than silence each other as ideologically wrong, we wouldn’t be HERE, in that moment of defeat AGAIN.

On Easter, as Christ remained loyal to God’s plan and the path and ways of human government and evil actions, should we too not embrace loyalty that our God will carry us through the darkness, and find that 80%, 60%, 40%, 20% ally is more worthy to hold office, than that 100% enemy in Hillary Clinton? You know, Abraham pleaded with God to spare Sodom, so I plead with my #NEVERTRUMP and Trump supporters both, spare the Republican Party, if you even find 5% in common, please spare the Party.

The men turned away and went toward Sodom, but Abraham remained standing before the Lord. Then Abraham approached him and said: “Will you sweep away the righteous with the wicked? What if there are fifty righteous people in the city? Will you really sweep it away and not spare[c] the place for the sake of the fifty righteous people in it? Far be it from you to do such a thing—to kill the righteous with the wicked, treating the righteous and the wicked alike. Far be it from you! Will not the Judge of all the earth do right?”

The Lord said, “If I find fifty righteous people in the city of Sodom, I will spare the whole place for their sake.”

Then Abraham spoke up again: “Now that I have been so bold as to speak to the Lord, though I am nothing but dust and ashes, what if the number of the righteous is five less than fifty? Will you destroy the whole city for lack of five people?”

“If I find forty-five there,” he said, “I will not destroy it.”

Once again he spoke to him, “What if only forty are found there?”

He said, “For the sake of forty, I will not do it.”

Then he said, “May the Lord not be angry, but let me speak. What if only thirty can be found there?”

He answered, “I will not do it if I find thirty there.”

Abraham said, “Now that I have been so bold as to speak to the Lord, what if only twenty can be found there?”

He said, “For the sake of twenty, I will not destroy it.”

Then he said, “May the Lord not be angry, but let me speak just once more. What if only ten can be found there?”

He answered, “For the sake of ten, I will not destroy it.”

When the Lord had finished speaking with Abraham, he left, and Abraham returned home.

And remember always, that like my Father, I will remain here, holding the breach back, waiting for you all to come home again. And should you destroy this fortress that is the Republican Party, I will rebuild it in another place, in another time, ready to represent the ideals of fidelity that all who engaged in her destruction, regardless of faction, abandoned in those days that will pass soon enough. That is The Loyal Opposition, to smile and shake like Reagan did, even in defeat, because your virtue and fidelity will carry you farther in the hearts and minds of men, than your words and deeds can.

Compelled by ‘Faith’, Whether We Like It or NOT

I hope that you respect my decision to try and keep unity in the party, and fidelity to its principles highest. If the Party overturns Donald Trump in the Convention, I’ll vote for the candidate they choose because that’s the Party’s will. If they rally behind him, through overturns and promises of some stature to keep him bound to our ways, then I shall follow my Leadership’s choices. But in all things, I WILL not abandon the Party of Lincoln and Reagan because the Party ceases to act like Lincoln or Reagan. Instead, I will remain as an a living example, as did Paul in bondage and house arrest while in Rome. So to shall I remain in DC, in bondage and captivity to the Party and to my God’s wills. As long as my God tells me to remain where I am, I am listening to HIM and shall remain here. I care not for the judgments and attitudes of man, my concern is on HE who holds me accountable, ALL my life.

It’s not like I choose this because it’s easy, or what I THINK is right; I choose this because I am compelled by what is higher and more right than I ever can be. Where I wind up at the end of this, or where any of my fellow Republicans do what I do is between them and God. I fully expect others to disagree with me or say God is telling them to do ‘blank’. I am sure that GOD is because GOD plans for all things, and he has a plan that requires me to unfortunately remain here.

Do What Thou Wilt Friends, Do What You Must to Be Right with Your God. I wear my values and ideas on my sleeve, as a way to be held accountable should I misstep or go awry. Some have probably wondered on my total non-commitment to #NEVERTRUMP or why I continue to slander Trump even as he edges closer to victory. It’s because I have been called to act this way, and the words I write, while I hold for weight and responsibility for, are not always my own to say. I say what comes to me, and what I pray on, but those who know me, know my faith is very core to my identity, core to how I talk and write. Even if I am not quoting scripture always, Scripture is on my mind. On the subject of what happens, I am treating Caesar as the Party, and what Caesar renders as its decision, I will respect. Note, Trump nor Cruz, nor the Dr. Carson I respect, or the Rubio I see as credible are my Caesar. The Party is my Caesar, Government overall is Caesar, and the President is Caesar. What is compelled to me by those Caesars, I submit to, based on how they are in position of authority over me, over this nation and its policies.

I can simplify this real easy to “it’s out of my hands” but who would believe me. But I am serious when I invoke that God is compelling my heart to this path. If it weren’t so, don’t you think I would be amongst those promising #NEVERTRUMP. You know I do not endorse or see this man’s qualities. I truly worry about what he can accomplish when everyone thinks they can make deals with him. His use of demagoguery only serves to hurt the American electorate in the end, and yet should the Party raise him up, I will not raise a rebellion against the People’s Will.

My behavior in many ways, mimics what Samuel did in regards to the Israelites wanting a King. Anger, then desperation for sanity, and finally, frustrated acceptance that this is the path that my nation must walk, regardless of the outcome, because the nation demands it. For better or for worse.

So all the elders of Israel gathered together and came to Samuel at Ramah. They said to him, “You are old, and your sons do not follow your ways; now appoint a king to lead[b] us, such as all the other nations have.”

But when they said, “Give us a king to lead us,” this displeased Samuel; so he prayed to the Lord. And the Lord told him: “Listen to all that the people are saying to you; it is not you they have rejected, but they have rejected me as their king. As they have done from the day I brought them up out of Egypt until this day, forsaking me and serving other gods, so they are doing to you. Now listen to them; but warn them solemnly and let them know what the king who will reign over them will claim as his rights.”

Samuel told all the words of the Lord to the people who were asking him for a king. He said, “This is what the king who will reign over you will claim as his rights: He will take your sons and make them serve with his chariots and horses, and they will run in front of his chariots. Some he will assign to be commanders of thousands and commanders of fifties, and others to plow his ground and reap his harvest, and still others to make weapons of war and equipment for his chariots. He will take your daughters to be perfumers and cooks and bakers. He will take the best of your fields and vineyards and olive groves and give them to his attendants. He will take a tenth of your grain and of your vintage and give it to his officials and attendants. Your male and female servants and the best of your cattle[c] and donkeys he will take for his own use. He will take a tenth of your flocks, and you yourselves will become his slaves. When that day comes, you will cry out for relief from the king you have chosen, but the Lord will not answer you in that day.”

But the people refused to listen to Samuel. “No!” they said. “We want a king over us. Then we will be like all the other nations, with a king to lead us and to go out before us and fight our battles.”

When Samuel heard all that the people said, he repeated it before the Lord. The Lord answered, “Listen to them and give them a king.”

Then Samuel said to the Israelites, “Everyone go back to your own town.”


A song that fits how I see the American political circus right now. We are two Tribes of America, and if we aren’t careful, we are headed for a collision that will do severe damage. Regardless of the outcome of who ‘survives’ that collision, the impact will live on. I am not doomsaying America, I don’t want to do that. What I am saying is that we are letting ourselves radicalize in our attitudes, and that’s a path of irrationality. It can only lead to pain and a loss of humanity, in minds, hearts, and souls. If not bodies.

I won’t defend my path anymore. If you feel that I am in the wrong, and need to cut ties with me, I am saddened by that, but I understand. If I stayed loyal after getting snowballed with John McCain and Mitt Romney, both arguably bad Republican candidates, how much more can a Ted Cruz or Donald Trump disqualify my values and ideals? All I can do is pray for the best from the worst, I don’t expect miracles, but I am eager to see humanity, my Nation, and my Party prove me wrong that good things and miracles are still possible.

Until the Convention, I, OF COURSE, endorse Ted Cruz and if the Party finds a way to broker a convention for a better nominee, I will be glad and support it.

Leave a Reply

